A Subject Close to a Parent’s Heart

Complete set of the seven books of the "H...
Image via Wikipedia

A Subject Close to a Parent’s Heart

Traci Kenworth

 

I’ve read recently (as well as roundabout for a while) that boys aren’t reading like they should. Girls seem to latch onto books like goldfish to a pond. It’s natural and easy for them. Boys, on the other hand, struggle with the desire to crack those pages. Is it because of too much stimuli (video games, TV, outdoor activities—not saying anything of these are necessarily bad for them if done in moderation. With the exception of the last, which should also be encouraged.)? But, I’m wondering if our boys aren’t getting left behind.

My daughter reads (and writes J) up a storm. My son is the opposite. He barely wants to dive into any reading—unless it’s video game magazines, hunting, or guns. And I don’t mind him being interested in this material because at least it’s something. But I worry about how his selective reading might inhibit his performance in school. Through the recommendation of a friend of mine, when school starts, I plan to help him by letting him choose what he wants to read book-wise and reading a chapter to him at night, and allowing him to read another one. This back and forth experiment will hopefully broaden his horizons.

So much can be learned from books. There are adventures to take, a journey to self-awareness, and enjoyment that gives back. I hate to see the younger generation particularly boys miss out on that. I think part of this problem is there are so few male protagonists out there for them. Harry Potter, yes. Series such as Star Wars. But overall, there is a lacking. I think it’s time to encourage more diversity in books and better reading habits for our sons. Only by joining together can we give them a better future.

What are your thoughts? What are some of the things that helped you encourage your son to read more? Do you feel that boys do their fair share of reading equal to girls? If so, why? I’d love to hear your thoughts.

8 thoughts on “A Subject Close to a Parent’s Heart

  1. You know, I’ve always wondered about the weird relationship between boys and reading. In ten years of teaching first grade, I never noticed a discrepancy–they all liked to read at that age. But at some point, boys do tend to lose that desire. Kudos for trying everything you can to get your son to read. Reading to him is a fabulous idea. And I agree that we need more male protagonists in MG and YA.

    Becca @ The Bookshelf Muse

    Like

  2. Great post Traci. I’ve introduced my son to some great books over the last year. The Percy Jackson series, The Curse Worker’s series (by Holly Black), Vladamir Tod, Eragon Series (Christopher Paolini), The Fablehaven series…

    I know it doesn’t seem like a lot of books are geared toward boys, but they are out there. But like everyone else said, sometimes they’re hard to find. It would be nice to see more books geared toward boys, my sons would definitely appreciate it (smiles). Eventually, I might try myhand and writing a book from a male POV (my son Barrett has been bugging me too, just need to find the right concept.).

    Like

Leave a Reply

