Searching for a Car, a New Fridge, and other Life Details

2003-2005 Dodge Neon photographed in USA. Cate...
Image via Wikipedia

Searching for a Car, a New Fridge and Other Life Details

Traci Kenworth

 

Yeah, the big moment has come to decide whether to turn my old car in (a 2001 Dodge Neon with 123,000 miles on it) in for a new (er) one. I’m looking at local dealers and those farther away. I really like the Toyata Yaris Sedan but it’s running on the high side. It just looks like a cute, comfy car. There’s also a 2006 Pontiac G6 V6 Sedan as a possibility. I need a car with four doors, rear window defogger (and it would be great to have a rear window wiper), automatic, and under 40,000 miles. There’s a 2009 Kia Spectra EX and a 2009 PT Cruiser in the line-up as well. Besides narrowing the choices down, there’s the monthly payments to consider. Got to keep those as low as possible.

On the home-front, just received my new fridge. I LOVE it. It’s bigger than my old one though, so I had to remove the top cabinet (which I don’t use). It’s going to be nice to have that extra space in the freezer and depth inside. Instead of the bar on the door, there are plastic compartments that I absolutely prefer. They’re large and more solid than those bars. It’s a Crosley brand from Canada. So, yeah, extra happy there.

The kids started school. My son was having such a hard time with his locker (a locker a friend of my daughter’s had last year and also had problems with) and one of his teachers told him the secret to getting it open, so cool on that issue. Heehee, they’re already wishing it was summer still. Time flies so fast anymore. It seems like just yesterday they were babies.

I’m still editing my novel for betas. Yeah, it takes FOREVER but I’ve seen such an improvement in it. It’s true you learn so much from each book you write (this is my fourth one). I’m also going to try my hand at short stories per an interview I saw by Ray Bradbury on how to perfect your craft. He taught on how it’s important to write what’s on the inside of us, not what we think the public wants to buy right now. And he related the most important step of success a writer can have: when someone buys your book and compliments you on your writing. It’s worth more than all the gold in the world. I’ve always said, “If I can just reach one reader, and entertain them a while, I’ll be happy.” Which, now having done that, I want to reach MORE. Lol. How things change. But that’s the beauty of life.

2 thoughts on “Searching for a Car, a New Fridge, and other Life Details

  1. Traci,
    Car hunting is both exciting and scary. Exciting because you get to look at what’s out there, but scary because it means making sure you’re picking the right vehicle etc. Hope your car hunting goes well. And woohoo on the new fridge!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

