Still on Hiatus…

Writing journal

Still on hiatus…

Traci Kenworth

 

 

Well, the betas are off! For those of you who don’t know what betas are, they’re readers who take on the challenge of reading over your manuscript before its published to catch any glaring errors/plot holes etc. They’re invaluable to a writer and I’m grateful for each and every one of them. After they come back in, during which I’m taking a three week break, I will spit and polish it some more.

Meanwhile, I’m going to be catching up on my housework, writing short stories, and enjoying life in general. Oh, and getting those notes and lists of agents out and going over them again, to select possibilities. Each one has something unique to offer and I want to be sure to get one compatible with me. I’ve heard horror stories about bad relationships so I’m praying to avoid that. I’ve been doing my research for a while and just need to brush up on their rules/submission guidelines.

I’ve already picked out my next story and have the reverse outlines, notes, character sketches & photos, all set to go. Plus I’ll be editing a second book on the side. It’s going to be a merry-go-round but I think I can handle it. Besides, have to gear up for the day when I’ll have deadlines to adhere to. So it’s off to cleaning my desk off to get it ready for future endeavors, while retaining what I need of the story for when the betas come back.

So how about you? Where are you at in your work-in-progress? Are you querying? Starting a fresh project?

 

14 thoughts on “Still on Hiatus…

  1. Sounds like you’ve got your downtime all figured out. Good for you! I’m revising the never-ending-revision project. I keep thinking I’m on my last round, then I learn something new that will have to be revised into our out of the manuscript. I think my October 30th deadline is out the window, but the reasons behind it are good, so I’m okay with that.

    Becca @ The Bookshelf Muse

    Like

  2. Sometimes projects do have their own minds when it comes to when their “ready.” I have a good feeling about mine this time around. I’ve put everything into the story I can, now it needs to find its way to an agent (after beta revisions, that is.) and then we’ll see what becomes of it. I thank you so much for The Bookshelf Muse, your site has been invaluable in helping me envision my scenes better. The actions sometimes stump me (you can only say he/she glanced etc. so many times without cringing. Lol.) so I go to you shelf and find what I’m looking for.

    Like

  3. breaks are awesome! I need to give myself permission to take more I think. For me, I’m either writing or revising,because I’m no good at juggling projects. The only exception is of one if fiction and the other non-fiction. That’s what I’m doing now, and it takes two different sets of skills, so I can juggle it okay. 🙂

    Like

  4. At one time, I was balancing writing one and editing the other. I’m going to try and go back to that. At least until one overwhelms the other because I’m thinking in the future when I do get published, I will need to be able to juggle more than one project at a time in different stages, to keep up with things. I’ve allowed myself distance from the one I plan to edit (months) and that will help dramatically while beginning the new one will keep my batteries charged. Lol.

    Like

  5. I precisely desired to thank you so much once more. I’m not certain the things that I might have carried out in the absence of these ideas contributed by you directly on my problem. Entirely was a real distressing case for me, but viewing a new expert style you processed it forced me to jump for contentment. I am just happier for your information and as well , trust you find out what a powerful job you’re providing instructing the others using your web site. More than likely you’ve never got to know any of us.

    Like

Leave a Reply

