Life is Fragile Handle with Prayer

Footstep
Image by Images by John 'K' via Flickr

Life is Fragile Handle with Prayer

Traci Kenworth

 

Prayers are very important to me. They’re a lifeline in times of despair. I realize not everyone shares my outlook or beliefs, sometimes this blog is written just to remind me of what’s in my heart. I went to a Century Village church growing up. I’m talking what looked like the Little House on the Prairie version. I used to light the candles each Sunday up front along with a friend of mine. We had basement Sunday school sessions.

On Wednesdays, I attended piano/choir lessons.

Even when I went my way after high school, church was a big part of my life. It was probably my saving grace through my dark days. A time when I thought I lost everything. But God is good and he allows us to find our way home to him. My life isn’t perfect, but it’s blessed. I wake every day, ready to start the day, because of the strength he gives me, because of the hope and determination he extends.

There’s nothing I like better than to study The Bible, to learn from it. It helps me grow, chases the blues away, and gives me a hug I sometimes desperately need. Prayers, in particular, have been a real treasure passed down through the generations of my family. It’s always the first thing we do before meal times, a gathering to see loved ones off, and any other time we just feel that extra need. There’s such an outpouring of strength in a group like that.

Not that it can’t be effective done individually, because I can tell you most of the gut-wrenching prayers in my life have been done between me and Jesus. In the times I have felt my most heart-ache, he has answered with comfort. He has lifted my face many times when I thought I couldn’t bear to go on. So, yeah, I love the saying, “Life is Fragile, Handle with Prayer.” It makes sense to me, it reminds me of someone who walks alongside me, undemanding, ready to lift me up and carry me if need be.

 

6 thoughts on “Life is Fragile Handle with Prayer

Leave a Reply

