Where has the Year Gone?

Acer platanoides in autumn colors.
Image via Wikipedia

Where has this Year Gone?

Traci Kenworth

 

As I go through this week, waiting for the clocks to change back one hour, I’m reflecting on the year and thinking: where has it gone? It seems like it was just Spring yesterday and I was getting ready to plant, and enjoy the warm weather. Now, it’s blustery and cold and headed for that dreaded “S” word. I try and think back over my goals. Have I met them?

Not as I hoped I would, but I did end the year with two manuscripts to whip into shape, one to go out soon. So, it’s not a total loss. It’s not like I did nothing to advance my writing. A lot of hard work, researching agents, making sure things are fixed just right. It’ll pay off, just not as soon as I’d like.

This year saw the introduction of two new kitties to our household. They’re fitting in just fine. The kids and I survived another year and things are on their way. Sometimes, we’re filled with regret for what we don’t do, but we should focus on what we’ve accomplished. I know as a writer I’ve grown more in this year than ever before. I also know that my family is strong and my children make me proud. What more could I ask for on the home-front?

I don’t think I’m going to make New Year’s Resolutions this year, I think I’ll just let happen what will. I think if we work toward our goals without specifying that we’ll have A or B done at a certain time, we take the pressure off ourselves. It’s good to push yourself to succeed, just remember you’re human, and to try your best. You’ll see some improvement even if it’s just that you finally finished that book you’ve been talking about writing forever. Every little step counts. So maybe the year’s flown by, but we can still keep our chins up, content in the knowledge, we’re on our way.

3 thoughts on “Where has the Year Gone?

  1. Time just goes so fast. Nice post.

    Hi! I was recently awarded the Versatile Blogger Award and in response to that I’m passing the award on to 15 other bloggers. I’m really happy to say that you are among that number! Congratulations! For full details and for the nifty badge for your site go to http://myinner-i.blogspot.com/p/awards.html.

    I really love your site and I’m happy to share this award with you!

    Lacey
    http://myinner-i.blogspot.com/ (*award winner*)
    http://updownin-n-out.blogspot.com/
    http://becomingdawn.blog.com/

    Like

Leave a Reply

