Regrettably, Why I Withdrew from Nano…

NaNoWriMo Hoodies Are Heaven
Image by smittenkittenorig via Flickr

Regrettably, Why I Withdrew from Nano

Traci Kenworth

 

For all intents and purposes, I meant to do NanoWriMo this year. I had my story ready to go, everything mapped out that I could think of, and then it hit me. There was no way I could write 50,000 words and do justice editing my almost-there manuscript. The timeline is ticking to get SH ready before agents go on holiday hiatus, and I want to get the first or second round of queries out before then.

Originally, I figured I could work on both at the same time, but the more and more I get into making sure SH is in shape, the more I realize I can’t spread myself too thin by doing both at once. I still fully intend to write my next wip, as soon as SH is finished, but by then Nano will be halfway over. I was torn by my decision, after all, I blogged about how wonderful I thought the program to be. I still believe in its core and the support it offers writers.

It’s just that: editing can be a very complicated process. You want to get everything just right and that takes all your concentration. If your mind’s on two stories at once, it’s going to prove too distracting. At least, for me. I think I’ve mentioned, SH itself was a Nano project back in 2009. It’s taken a lot of work and rewriting from third to first person to get the feel that things are clicking and falling into place. I don’t want to mess that up. So, when you pick your pencils up or put your fingers to the keyboard, know that I’m cheering you on, even as I work on improving a story close to my heart.

10 thoughts on “Regrettably, Why I Withdrew from Nano…

  1. Traci, I think you made a great decision to skin Nano this year. You’ve got a story that is almost done being edited that you need to get out the door before the end of the year. Sometimes we just need to prioritize and figure out what’s more important.

    So excited about SH…

    Like

    1. Thanks, Rebekah. You’re right: priorities need to be made when it comes to something that you’re either going to invest time in to start, or that which you’re going to invest time in to finish. I’ve done two books this year. It would be a push to make it three. I still have another manuscript waiting in the wings while I finish this one too. So, yeah, time to get things in gear and finish what I started.

      Like

  2. I was in the same position. I’m close to being ready to query. I just needed to send the book to my final round of beta readers, but I needed to finish the edits first. If I wanted to participate in NaNoWri, then I had to finish planning the novel, which meant not editing my wip. In the end, I decided not to do NaNo either way because I’m going on vacation soon. And that would have eatten into a lot of writing time.

    Good luck finishing your edits, Traci. 🙂

    Like

  3. Although I don’t have a book I’m trying to edit, I also bowed out this year. Turns out, I wasn’t quite so attached to the book I was planning on writing as I thought and I had other projects that I DID feel more attached to that I was only going to put off by joining this year. Good to know I’m not alone! 🙂

    Like

    1. I think it’s better to bow out than write 50,000 words you’re not going to use/have a story with. It’s important to invest our all into a story and doing it halfway or rambling on doesn’t get us anywhere. So, yeah, take your time and find the “right” project.

      Like

Leave a Reply

