My Writing Journal

Novels in a Polish bookstore
Image via Wikipedia

My Writing Journal

Traci Kenworth

 

With the New Year at hand, I’ve decided to embark on some things I’ve thought about doing in the past, but didn’t get around to it. Yesterday, I pulled out my first book for reading in 2012 (although I read a hundred-and-fourteen last month), Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake. I plan on studying the book to learn what I can from it and its author. I will do reviews on each book I read this year, something I’ve only done for a few in the past.

I hope this will encourage me to read more. Often I get in the pit of finishing a book and not wanting to pick up another to find it of a lesser journey than the one before but by keeping tabs on my reading, I hope to discourage that pattern. And keeping the journal will help me to remember the books I’ve read. Often they muddle together, unless a really great one which often gets a further journey opened when the movie/s come out.

I’m REALLY like Anna so far. It reminds me of my favorite TV show Supernatural with the Winchester brothers. Except there’s only one (Cas) and a handful of misfits for this line of work who often get in his way, and their all teenagers. There are other differences, of course, I don’t mean to imply the books a straight route to the Supernatural phenomenon. It’s just his occupation reminds me of the show. You should pick up this book if you haven’t yet, it’s a shining star. I’ll review it further when I finish reading it. And I’m so looking forward to Kendare Blake’s next one.

I think this writing journal will be good for me to keep track of my progress, to see where I’ve been, what I’ve learned, and what’s still out there to pick up on. I plan to do a journal each year just to see how many pages I can fill and how many books I can clear off of my TBR piles. I’ll also visit the library regularly to keep up on new releases I can’t find in the stores in my area. It’s going to be a fantastic year for books, I just know it.

So, do you keep a journal of what you read for the year, or do you have one of those much-sought-after memories that can recall everything about a book you’ve read? I envy you if the latter. My memory has always been shallow. Lol. I know I’ve read a book and liked it but can’t recall the characters names or what exactly they went through. Yeah, a journal will help me to cement things more and grow as a writer and a reader.

10 thoughts on “My Writing Journal

  1. I think it’s a good idea. I’ve never had the urge to write about anything I’ve read unless it’s really spectacular, and I don’t usually remember many details about what I’ve read either, but I do remember the big-picture stuff and that’s good enough for me.

    Like

    1. Thanks, Maggie. I think if I get a chance to analyze things within each story (sort of pick it apart) that might help the mechanics of my own writing. Plus, it would be nice to keep stock of what I have and haven’t read and rate them for the year.

      Like

    1. Thanks, Lynn. I use Goodreads too, but this journal is meant to help me reflect on the mechanics of the story as well as what I’ve read. Things I’ve noted, things I’ve learned from the writer, and just neat quotes or sentences that strike me as particularly good. I think it’ll help me compare the stories better, so I can rank them from 1 to however many I read.

      Like

  2. Nice Idea about reading and reviewing with your own writing at the same time. if you ever want to put in some guest reviews, you’re always welcome at Book Geeks! 🙂 Good luck! I always enjoy your posts, and I’m so impressed with how thoughtful they are and how you manage to get them up all the time.

    Like

    1. Thanks, Vanessa. I really want to “learn” as I go from each writer, the good, the bad, and the ugly so to speak. Too often when I read and love or hate a story, I don’t take the time to pick apart what I liked and didn’t like. So this year when I close that book, I want to have insight into why I felt like I did. Thanks for the invite to Book Geeks, I may take you up on that!! More thanks on what you think about the posts. Sometimes I don’t know whether my posts are any good or not, I know I’m trying to write from the heart about what strikes me as something I might like to read.

      Like

  3. This is a great idea about keeping a journal. I own a lot of books, but I also borrow some from friends and the library. It’s easy to keep track of the books I own and have read, but it’s not so easy with the other ones.

    I read Anna Dressed in Blood. I liked it, but I was a little pissed that the author didn’t get right the one phrase of Finnish she used. I don’t know how she could have got it wrong. It’s in any Finnish language book for beginners. 😦

    Like

  4. Thanks, Stina!! That is exactly why I want to keep one, to remember those I borrowed as well as those I own.

    Sorry Anna disappointed you. Hopefully, in her next book she’ll get the Finnish, if there is any, right.

    Like

  5. I tend to keep “notes” (not a journal on purpose) of book that I read that are nonfiction…or psychology based. I am avid journal writer, so I think I do this by habit. I sense your rationale for keeping a journal might stem from a desire to be a writer. It sounds to me like you’re READING LIKE A WRITER, not just READING LIKE A READER. Nice post!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

