A Writing Heart to Heart.

Two Paths Diverged in a wood
Image via Wikipedia

A Writing Heart to Heart

Traci Kenworth

 

Believing in yourself is critical to success. If you can’t find the faith to grab onto, you’ll find it difficult to take the writing path. No one can do it for you. It has to be you. You are in charge of lifting yourself out of a rut, pushing forward past the writer’s block, and putting out that finished product.

When we’re children we stumble and fall but we either learn how to pick ourselves up or we don’t go on. And not going on is such a waste of life. I spent a lot of years lost because I listened to other people’s ideals of what I should do, be. It wasn’t until I got the fire in my belly to pursue my writing despite what others might think that I gained the confidence I need to thrive in the writing world.

I wonder if there’s ever anyone who doesn’t change the path they walk down in life. Everything evolves and if we at first don’t have the confidence for it, we will gain it if we work at it. I haven’t always had faith in myself, in fact, I struggled many years without it, but now, when I write, a feeling comes over me, and I just know. This is what I was meant to do, these are the stories I’m meant to tell. This is where I belong.

If I didn’t have that confidence, I wouldn’t have the nerves to send out submissions, write this blog, put myself on the line. In short, I wouldn’t get far. I’ve come a long way from writing just for myself, to wanting to get my stories out there for readers. So how do you get that belief in yourself? Sit back, think about what you’re doing, and consider whether you want to be a shrinking violet or a soldier.

In other words, where do you see yourself in five years? Still practicing? Published? Agented? If you can’t imagine yourself passing the hurdles in this business, maybe you should consider a different talent of yours and pursue that. It takes work. Hard work to advance in any field. Just like growing up. We go from unsteady on our feet to walking gracefully. Lift your chin, square your shoulders, and stand proud, you are on the right path. Faith starts as a small seed in your hand and once planted, flourishes with patience, love, and tending. Don’t sell yourself short, become that gardener with a green thumb.

How do you keep yourself motivated? How do you know you’re any good? What clinches the belief inside you that this is what you’re meant to do? When you answer those questions you have only to consider the direction you’re headed and break ground. Keep the faith; it’ll get you through everything to come.

8 thoughts on “A Writing Heart to Heart.

  1. Great post, Traci!
    I always come back to that line from (of all things) Sister Act 2: “A fellow used to write to him and say: “I want to be a writer. Please read my stuff.” And Rilke says to this guy: “Don’t ask me about being a writer. lf when you wake up in the morning you can think of nothing but writing…then you’re a writer.”
    That says it all to me. 🙂

    Like

  2. Traci,
    Great post lady. And you’re right, if we can’t believe in ourselves, how to we expect others (like agents or publishers) to believe in us. Writing takes a lot of hard work. Sometimes it means years of writing without a bite, sometimes it means lots of requests to see our work. The journey is different for everyone, but the one common thing should be the love of writing.

    Like

  3. Talk about a perfectly timed post. I’m supposed to be sending out more queries, but I just can’t motivated to do it. I’ve got so many other things that I have to do, researching agents has become a low priority. I guess I just need to do it, even if I would rather work on my new wip.

    Like

  4. I know how hard it is to send out queries, especially when we’re facing potential rejections. What keeps me going is focusing on the big picture–that moment when an agent asks for a partial or full, or better yet, THE call. It also helps to read other stories of how writers got their agents. It’s not easy for anyone (well, there are a few exceptions, but the authors I admire are the ones who faced a mountain of rejections and survived.). Even J.K. Rowling and Stephen King fought their uphill battles with the slushpile. If we learn from these lessons and keep the faith in ourselves, we’ll join their ranks one day. Good luck, Stina!!

    Like

  5. Great post, Traci. Motivation can be tough sometimes, especially when we have concrete expectations. 5years ago, I was sure I’d be published. And before that? Ditto. But now I don’t think in terms of when. It can be too painful. I know I’m on the right path, and I am always trying to improve. If I keep going, I’ll get there. For me this is enough.

    The only thing we really have to do is make sure what we are doing now will lead to achieving better writing skills. If we do that, we are all successful!
    Hugs traci…I always enjoy your posts, even if I don’t always have time to comment 🙂

    Angela

    Like

Leave a Reply

