A Life-line

P writing blue
Image via Wikipedia

A Life-line

Traci Kenworth

 

Just when you think of packing things up, that everything is stacked against you, and you’ll never succeed in this pursuit of writing, something good happens. It can be as simple as a kind word directed at your blog, requested material, or a renewed determination, despite the odds, to go on. Treat all of them like the gift they are. They are your new lease, your next step on the tier to where your writing will take you.

When I started out, I just wanted to be able to touch one reader with something I’d written. Now that I’ve reached that goal, I want more. Those are the rungs you climb in pursuit of your dreams. When I was younger, they seemed impossible to reach. Now, I realize it was because they were the wrong ones. I was never meant to be a vet, an office worker, or hundreds of other jobs out there. My passion has always been my writing though I was turned from it time and time again.

I think it’s a shame that the corporate world treats artists this way. We’re not easily put into a box, so they force us into corners, often into careers that we hate or learn to tolerate to put money in our hands. I know there are some programs out there for us artistic types, but they are few and far between. We may not make it in the length of time we’re given. I’ve been writing for many years. I’ve completed eight books to date and the lessons I’ve learned I wouldn’t trade for one more day behind an office desk. Fortunately, I’m able to write full time now and I love it. It’s a sacrifice sometimes, but worth it for me. This is not to say that you can’t have a thriving career at something else you love and write as well. There are some people who do, I know. It just didn’t work for me.

My ambition has turned to increasing the numbers of people who read my work, to landing that book/s deal, and someday hitting the New York Times Bestselling list, maybe even winning an award or two. A little encouragement, you see, goes a long way. When we pass it around, it comes back to refuel us, and keeps us climbing those ladders. So, if you like what you’re reading tell the person who wrote it, mention it to others, and pass along the goodwill. It will return to favor you, you’ll see. That boost up to the next level will bring a smile to your face and a skip to your step. It really is all about giving. The reader wants to read something that makes them experience the journey, gives them hope, points them in the right direction. Give and you shall receive.

12 thoughts on “A Life-line

  1. I was glad to see you say, “This is not to say that you can’t have a thriving career at something else you love and write as well.” As a grade six teacher I do love what I do, but I would give it up to writing any day …so long as I was making enough to pay the bills.

    This is yet another marvelous post. I’m inspired everytime I come to visit. I even managed to get back to writing plot lines for a novel series concept. Audience: 13-16 year old girls.

    Like

    1. You don’t know how happy that makes me to be able to help inspire you with my posts. I try and write from the heart, I was afraid at first that no one would like what I had to say, I’m so glad I was wrong. There are many, many successful authors who have another career. It just goes to show you that if you love doing something, you’re going to find a way to do so, even if it’s only for ten minutes a day.

      Like

Leave a Reply

