Creating Your Own Space

English: Red Pinterest logo
English: Red Pinterest logo (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Creating Your Own Space

Traci Kenworth

 

As writers our creativity knows no bounds. We can set up a blog, tweet or post on Facebook, pin things to Pinterest, whatever makes us happy. It’s important to pick and choose spaces that matter to us, and as authors, can show others what we’re about. I’m not suggesting you to describe every last detail of your life, in fact, with the dangers of the internet, I think it would be best to wary out there. But there’s so much you can do with the little you decide to share.

Favorite places. Recipes. Pictures of pets, favorite TV shows, movies. Inspirations. Articles on writing. They and more can be shared. And so much the better. They help us introduce ourselves to readers, update us with friends and family, and show an agent and editor we mean business. With the time constraints, I understand that we don’t have massive amounts to spend on every social media out there, but the ones we like and visit regularly should feel our presence.

What I do is switch around. Three days out of the week, I visit Facebook, two, Twitter. I reverse this week to week. I do the same with Pinterest. My blog, of course, I try and post on twice a week. There are occasions when I spend more time. During book releases for friends. Muse stories by the YAFF members. Blog hops. Anything and everything to help others which in turns helps my own blog. Give back of yourself and you’ll show others you care. Caring equals interest in you and your work.

So get out there and share. Splurge a little time on getting others to know you. It’ll pay off in the end. What are some of the ways you use to promote/establish yourself to your visitors? Do you find the methods work for you? What would you have changed/improved about your process?

15 thoughts on “Creating Your Own Space

  1. I’ve been dabbling in a little of everything lately but it’s too soon to tell if it is making a difference! Maybe once I go beyond the dabbling it will pay off, but it is very time consuming, leaving less time for actual writing. 🙂

    Like

  2. I hear you. That’s why I juggle them. Fifteen minutes here and there and then off to the business of writing. Making time for the actual writing is the most important thng of all.

    Like

  3. I blog every day on one blog, three times (or four) on the other, tweet and have the tweets cross-post to facebook and linked in. ^_^

    Sometimes it’s a bit tense, but it’s a working system that I don’t want to change.

    Like

  4. I wander onto Facebook and twitter whenever I have a chance. I don’t like to pop on unless I have something to say. 🙂 Pinterest is something I’ll only visit after a busy day of writing, otherwise it is an incredible distraction.

    Like

  5. Honestly, I’m still getting the hang of these things and figuring out which sites are most important to me. So I don’t really have a set of “methods” or a “process” yet. I’m definitely working on it, though. 🙂

    Like

  6. Hey lady,
    I try to drop by at least twitter a few times a week. Facebook is more like once a week or less (LOL). I do try to drop in on blogs though. Sometimes I might miss a few posts, but I do try and say hey to some of my friends/crit partners/favorite readers.

    Like

Leave a Reply

