Off I go, Editing

 

Edit of Death
Edit of Death (Photo credit: Ric James)

 

Off I go, Editing

 

Traci Kenworth

 

 

 

The days have passed quicker than I thought. Editing time has arrived. I’m going to begin

 

with a read-through of LATWD and see what catches/problems I see. I began writing the book about March of this year. So I guess it’s been about a six-month process. From here on out, I want to concentrate on shaping it, making it better. I’m so hoping I don’t find it a big, jumbled mess but instead the awesome story I think it is. It’s taken a lot to get it to this point, and I thank my critique partners for helping me arrive here.

 

Now, the real hurdles begin. Are the characters strong enough? Is the plot riveting? Will

 

it maintain reader interest? All these questions and more need to be answered. The truth of the matter is though, I prefer this stage. What? Editing can be a preference? For me, yes. I like it because it’s like being an archaeologist and discovering a fossil. You have to carefully dig out the finished project. It’s not ready, till it’s completely unearthed. With your manuscript, at this point, you only have the bones. Now you need to flesh things out, bring to life the dinosaur.

 

It’s a scary thought, isn’t it? Trying to recreate something you imagined months ago into

 

something that’s going to hold your reader’s attention into the years beyond this hopefully? Of course, we want to imagine what we put down the first time is perfect, but the truth is manuscripts take work, lots of it. No one unearths an exhibit that’s ready for viewers overnight. It takes time, many plans, help from outside ourselves, and patience. In the end, you want things to be perfect when it takes the stage. So no hurrying. Step back and observe, lay the groundwork for success.

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Off I go, Editing

  1. Oh yes, I am all too familiar with editing. It’s a great way to re-connect with your story, though. I find I get super excited going over everything again. No hurrying is a good motto.

    Like

    1. Thanks, Sara!! The printer’s all ready to go and print out the first five chapters for me to work on. I plan to do small amounts at a time and pour over what notes I come up with then, when I’m ready, compare them with my cps’ critiques.

      Like

  2. Cool. In some ways I prefer the editing process over the actual writing. Each round of polish makes it all that much more better looking! How long is the story, btw? Oh yeah, heh . . . an archaeologist does not dig up dinosaurs. That’s a paleontologist. Sorry, couldn’t resist. My wife’s an archaeologist and she gets that misconception all the time. 🙂

    Like

    1. Me too, Dan!! Editing helps me draw everything together and revision it as it should be. Sorry about the archaeologist and paleontologist mix-up. I learn something new every day!! Oh, and the story works out at about 67,000 words at the moment. It may be more or less when I’m through.

      Like

Leave a Reply

