Update Feb. 7, 2013

English: Street scenes of fall
English: Street scenes of fall (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

Update Feb. 7, 2013

 

Traci Kenworth

 

 

 

I’m still in the editing/rewriting stages on my wip. Although it may not seem like I’m making much progress (it feels like it’s been forever doing this), truly I am. My story has undergone such changes that will make it better, stronger, hopefully more fulfilling for the readers and that’s what matters. I know each time we query, we need to present the best story possible for us at that time. It takes a lot to get it to that “ready” stage. I’ve rushed in the past and found myself putting forth less-than-perfect entries and that’s not good. We want to earn an agent’s notice for writing well, not by something we should stuff inside our desk drawer as “lessons learned.”

 

What I’ve been working on with the book are the creatures. There’s different kinds and within one group, different levels. It’s tough to come up with something totally “unique” but I’ve tried to with mine. I’ve thought of the things that scare me and built on that in the development. What scares the characters also went into the consideration. It has to be a combination of both, I think, to get the “monster” to be at its worst.

 

You know from the last time, one of my characters went from being a brunette to a blonde. Well, I took a look at the rest of my cast as well and fixed those I needed to. Her brother is still dark-brown-haired but I’ve added glasses for him and more of a “stiffer” personality to accord his lawyer aspirations. His girlfriend is still a redhead, but more of a tomboy which will allow some conflict between them. Not to mention, the brother is torn between all that he’s learning about the legal world and the fact that his family is on the run because of his sister’s supernatural abilities.

 

The excitement is brewing is regards to this project and I’m so thankful. It really helps to love your story, your characters, what you’re doing. When you’re miserable, it shows. Right now, I’ve added another two chapters with the creatures pursuing my characters. I wanted to show not only their terror but how close to losing everything they love they are. I think that’s a key to horror. They have to not only be afraid of their lives ending, but the lives of those around them as well. When they care about someone other than themselves, it keeps the reader spell-bound. It shows what kind of character they really are: others come first.

 

I hope your own writing/editing is coming along well. Happy writing.

 

6 thoughts on “Update Feb. 7, 2013

  1. Yay for you! Sounds like you’re making great changes. I love it when I love my story all over again. Sometimes, after reading it 50 times, it can seem a bit tired. But if you love the story, it means plenty of other people will love it too! Good luck with your revision!

    Like

  2. It definitely makes a different when you love your story so much, you can’t imagine not working on it. And when you do take a break, you miss your characters more than you could ever imagine you would.

    If this doesn’t happen, then you know the book isn’t the write on for you. You book sounds like it’s the right one, Traci. And yeah, I’ve made that mistake too, of querying a book that I thought was ready but wasn’t.

    Like

  3. Thanks, Stina!! You’re right, this book feels SO much different than others I’ve worked on. Everything is just falling into place. Not that it’s doing so in a short amount of time (lol) but it’s getting there and that’s what counts.

    Like

Leave a Reply

