When the Muse strikes…

A classic fairy with a wand
A classic fairy with a wand (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

When the Muse Strikes…

 

Traci Kenworth

 

 

 

Often, if you’re like me, the Muse strikes whenever it wants to. Sometimes, it’s convenient, sometimes not but if you’re a writer, you learn to deal. Do I lose some fragments of ideas when I’m driving or at the doctor’s office? Sure. It happens, but most of the time I can capture those clues with the help of the pens I keep in my purse and various post-its, scraps of notebook paper, even napkins. Hey, whatever works. This weekend I was recovering from surgery when I had some complications hit me. Needless to say, I spent a LOT of time resting and while I did so, who should show up? The Muse fairy. She tickled her wings and voila, the solution to some of my world’s problems rested in my palms.

 

Things that should have been obvious in my character’s universe suddenly clicked. Not only that, I discovered the title and plotline to how the 3rd book (all of these written to be stand-alones) rocketed into place as well. Sometimes, it just takes a bit of quiet, a bit of reflection to uncover what will/or should be. I feel more on firm ground again and I’m ready to move forward. Happy writing, everyone.

 

6 thoughts on “When the Muse strikes…

  1. Oh no! I hope you’re feeling better. While I’m glad inspiration struck, I’m sorry for the way it happened! Get better soon so you can get back to typing away!

    Like

  2. I know what you mean about the hidden muse. Yesterday I wrote an idea down on the back of a deposit ticket at the bank and during a red light. It doesn’t have all the nuances the muse gave me but hopefully today I can make something of it. 🙂

    Take good care of your self Traci. Don’t want any more complications.

    Hugs,

    Clara

    Like

Leave a Reply

