The Leibster Blog Award

 

 

 

 

 

English: Photograph of Mount Vernon, Fairfax C...
English: Photograph of Mount Vernon, Fairfax County, Virginia. George Washington’s Home. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

I’ve been tagged by YA Author, Vanessa Barger for The Leibster Award. It’s where I tell you 11 Fun Facts about myself, answer 11 questions, and come up with another 11 questions for the bloggers I choose. So let’s get started:

 

11 Fun Facts:

 

1. I used to LOVE coffee but it was bad for me, the doctor said, so I switched to the milder caffeine tea. Actually, tea was my first hot drink crush so it was kind of like coming home after being away for so long.

 

2. I LOVE animals. Tame or wild, though I don’t go out of my way to visit the wild, “up close and personal.” Lol.

 

3. Revising is the “It” thing for me. I just find it brings such promise, pulling together everything and making sure the vision works.

 

4. Worldbuilding often goes hand-in-hand with my stories. I think it’s a throw-back to all the fantasy books/stories I devoured when a youth.

 

5. Mystery is another favorite of mine. Although, I haven’t read much mystery lately. I’m fascinated by the puzzle of them, the truth behind all. Hardy Boys/Nancy Drew and The Three Investigators were a few I followed.

 

6. I’m gearing up to move into a bigger house as soon as I locate one that suits my family and I’ve been keeping busy packing, packing, packing. You never realize how much you accumulate over the years!

 

7. I am both repelled and fascinated by The Walking Dead series. At first, I couldn’t watch and then recently, I was drawn back in.

 

8. Cats are another thing that fascinates me. Their personalities, their actions, their way of life. I’m a cat at heart, I suppose. Lol.

 

9. During Christmas present opening, I’m more excited about what I’ve gotten others and watching them open it, hoping they like it, than I am about what I get myself.

 

10. I’ll be gearing up within the next 2-3 months to sub.

 

11. My writing process has gone from fevered pitch to slow as I concentrate on learning and practicing the lessons.

 

 

 

The 11 Questions Vanessa asked:

 

1. What is your favorite vacation you’ve ever taken? Washington D.C. with my son for his class trip a few years ago. I loved exploring George Washington’s home and learning about the ghost that lives there. There were other fascinating places we visited, but this one stood out the most to me. It’s simplicity and yet “homey” feel to it. Oh, and the goosebumps, wondering if the ghost would put in an appearance. It didn’t. But with that atmosphere, it’s not hard to imagine it being there.

 

2. What is your biggest pet peeve? Being late for something. I’m usually early to whatever I go to. I just think it’s better that way.

 

3. What is the scariest movie you’ve ever seen? I tried watching The Wrong Turn once. I had to turn it off after the first few scenes. It just made me sick. I like movies that don’t necessarily show the gore or don’t “dwell” on it anyway. I’ve seen my share of Jason, Freddy, and Michael Meyers believe me. What really “scared” me though was a television series I snuck down into the living room when I was little to watch: Stephen King’s “Salem’s Lot.” I had nightmares about that cellar/basement scene for months. Lol. Mostly because the bed in my room was pushed up against the attic door at the time and I kept imagining vampires “breaking through.”

 

4. Name one food you cannot live without? Hmm. Tomatoes. Yep. LOVE them.

 

5. Pirates or ninjas? Pirates, I suppose. Though in reality, I wouldn’t have liked to experience the reality of them but ninjas–that’s just asking to be killed or seriously maimed.

 

6. What is your favorite childhood movie? Where the Red Fern Grows maybe. Oh! No! The Black Stallion. The friendship between Alec and the horse was truly memorable.

 

7. Do you have any pets? Yes. Three cats: Miss Socks, Midnight, and Miss Tinky. One dog: Bear.

 

8. What is the best piece of advice you’ve never taken? To do what makes me happy. It’s taken me forever to get that lesson home and now I am with writing. I encourage my children to pursue their dreams because let’s face it: “do something practical” makes you miserable.

 

9. Road trips. Good or bad? Depends on who you’re with and what you do to occupy your time. We used to take looong trips when I was a kid with three or four vehicles following one another. It was a blast to visit places we hadn’t planned on (my dad was spontaneous about stopping here or there). Nowadays, the trips have grown to 2-3 hours (still a long while) but the kids and I keep busy with songs, trivia questions, and I spy.

 

10. If you had to spend the night in the woods and could only bring one thing to entertain you, what would it be? Hmm. The woods at night is spooky to me, so that in itself would be entertaining enough. Some S’mores would be nice though and is always a conversation piece.

 

11. Do you have any writing rituals? Not really. I spend the “early” morning going through emails, blogs, etc. and then towards late morning get to the writing. Usually, I take a brief break between the “business” side of writing and the actuality of it. It kind of shrugs things off and helps me focus. Then I spend the first 5-10 minutes re-reading over the last scene and go on from there.

 

 

 

Okay. My bloggers to tag: Stina Lindenblatt, Julie Musil, Penny Randall, Kelbian Naidoo, Andie Russell, and Miranda Buchanan. Yes, I know that’s short of the 11 you’re supposed to, but most bloggers have already been tagged, I think. Good luck, ladies, here’s your 11 questions and play with it!

 

1. What’s your favorite thing about Spring?

 

2. Any big changes in your life coming up? A move, book coming out, etc?

 

3. Do you enjoy the indoors or the outdoors and why?

 

4. What creeps you out? Spiders or snakes?

 

5. Whose your favorite character on The Walking Dead?

 

6. Do you read in a wide variety of genres?

 

7. What has become the biggest “bore” for you when it comes to a book? Theme or character-wise?

 

8. If you had to do one thing different/over in your writing career, what would it be?

 

9. Best book you’ve read lately?

 

10. Dark Fairytales or light?

 

11. What unusual thing do you have hanging on your wall/s?

 

2 thoughts on “The Leibster Blog Award

  1. Loved reading your answers to Vanessa’s questions and the 11 things about you. All your pets makes me think of my daughter who started out with four cats and 2 dogs, but now only have one dog and two cats. Your advice about doing what makes you happy is bang-on. A ‘practical’ job is almost guaranteed to give you stress or make you miserable – or both! 🙂

    Like

  2. Thanks!! It took me a lot of years to get over that “practical” job theory. I know sometimes it’s not easy to pursue the things we love and want to do, but if we keep at it, we’ll find a way!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

