Book Talk…4/1/16

26313302

Book Talk…4/1/16

Traci Kenworth

 

Searching For Happiness Martin Theilen Westminster John Knox Press 2016 Netgalley. Christian.

 

This book is about the quest of happiness and is backed up by 1) theological evidence, 2) scientific research and 3) the author’s personal experience.

 

I found the book to be thought provoking. It tells how you can have everything—wealth, cars, jewelry, etc. and still not be happy. Happiness is something we all search for. In my own life, I know it was difficult until recently to find happiness. I was looking at the wrong things, just as the examples in this book were. We need to look deeper into our lives, to what really matters: family, friends, faith. I wasted many years thinking I could find happiness if I just kept up with the neighbors, my co-workers, wealthier family members. It just brings stress and more worry that you’re not doing enough. And your relationships suffer. My kids are the brightest spots in my life. I don’t ever want that to change.

 

I have good friends who take the time to ask me how I am, care what the answer to that is, and I do the same in return. I treasure the friends I’ve made online and off. I exchange emails with one of my best friends in the world every day and she encourages me in this writing career and I do the same for her. There are times we rant about things, times when we feel down about things, but always we know we have one another’s back. She has done so much to keep my spirits up in a profession that sometimes drags us down with rejections everywhere and seeing others get what you’d like to have. It can be discouraging, it can be a black hole if you let it, but in the end, you pick yourself up and go on to fight for another day.

 

I love this quote from the book and The Bible from Matthew 6:34: “So don’t be anxious about tomorrow. God will take care of your tomorrows. Live one day at a time.”

 

I think that quote sums up a lot for me. Worry doesn’t help anyone. It only hinders. It’s best to cast your cares only then can you find yourself feeling a flicker of happiness that grows into an inferno. Be happy. God bless!!

Leave a Reply

