“The Playground” Craig S. Boyack

Today we have Craig S. Boyack with us with his new release: The Playground.  Craig has a little something special for us entitled: Having Something to Say. Enjoy!!

 

image1

The hottest toys of the Christmas Season are the Playground Network dolls. They contain a worldwide social network for children. Except, the network is controlled by a ruthless businessman with dreams of power.

 

To reach his goals he turns to the occult. Will our children make up his personal army? Could we have an enemy soldier in every home?

 

Gina Greybill is a cancer survivor who stumbles into her own brush with the paranormal. She wants nothing to do with it, but may be the only one who can bring down the Playground Network. To do it she’ll have to embrace her new situation, and recover the next generation of Playground software.

 

There is competition for the software in the form of a brutal thug named Clovis. He’s bigger, more ruthless, and more experienced. To top it all off, he has a head start.

 

The Playground is suitable for more mature readers, due to violence and mature themes.

 

Having Something to Say

It really isn’t necessary for an author to have something to say in order to have a cracking good story. I’ve found that many of the works I’m most proud of will include a “soapbox” issue.

This may be because I’m concerned about where the future will lead us. It might be because others have some of these same concerns. I’ve written stories with and without “soapbox” issues.

One of the dangers of having something to say is in letting the story get too preachy. I think it’s important not to draw conclusions, or to let the main character come right out and deliver the sermon. Nobody likes to be lectured, and I feel the same way.

The Playground has something to say, and I hope I left it subtle enough to get readers thinking about it. The fact is that our children spend an inordinate amount of time online these days. They aren’t learning how to personally engage with each other. There is a lesson to be learned in meeting someone after school. Perhaps lessons in doing what you promised a friend you’d actually do.

Today, kids get pretty raunchy on social media. There is bullying and shaming galore, and none of it would happen in a face to face world.

My newest book includes some of this, and takes the risk way down that wormhole. The Playground is all about a social network for kids. The devices are built into high tech dolls and plush animals to make it even more appealing. It comes with subscription fees, purchasable items for the toys, and everything else we’ve come to expect.

The problem involves a ruthless businessman who intends to brainwash our very own children into his personal army.

My wife and I might be slightly removed from this era, but we weren’t above putting a VHS tape on for the kids. A couple of hours of sanity isn’t always easy to get when you have little ones. I used these memories to relate how children could play with an artificial friend, and the parents can ignore them for a few hours. It’s what that artificial friend did while the parents are relaxing that becomes the concern.

To that end, I created Chloe. She’s a typical American kid, and feels like an outsider without her own Playground doll. I used her to represent the true victims in this story, and tensions rise as her story gets darker and darker.

Of course the story needs more characters. Gina is a doctor who narrowly survived cancer. She’s in a rough position spiritually at the beginning of the story. Her life takes a turn for the paranormal, and she becomes the heroine.

Things get moving when some important software goes missing that will take the Playground scheme to the next level. This is where Clovis comes in. He is hired to retrieve the software using any and all methods he deems appropriate.

The Playground is told in alternating chapters using these three characters. It’s a different style for me, and I’m really excited to see how it comes across with readers. It’s peppered with dead oracles, the Fae, a bad dog, and minor demons that are based upon the seven deadly sins. I hope you’ll take a chance and give it a read.

Author Bio:

I was born in a town called Elko, Nevada. I like to tell everyone I was born in a small town in the 1940s. I’m not quite that old, but Elko has always been a little behind the times. This gives me a unique perspective of earlier times, and other ways of getting by. Some of this bleeds through into my fiction.

 

I moved to Idaho right after the turn of the century, and never looked back. My writing career was born here, with access to other writers and critique groups I jumped in with both feet.

 

I like to write about things that have something unusual. My works are in the realm of science fiction, paranormal, and fantasy. The goal is to entertain you for a few hours. I hope you enjoy the ride.

 

Craig

Craig Boyack

 

No man ever wetted clay and then left it, as if there would be bricks by chance and fortune. – Plutarch

 

Follow my blog: http://coldhandboyack.wordpress.com

 

Check out my novels here: http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B00ILXBXUY

 

Twitter: https://twitter.com/Virgilante

 

On Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/9841203.C_S_Boyack

 

Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/ColdhandBoyack

16 thoughts on ““The Playground” Craig S. Boyack

  1. I’m glad I missed the high tech thing with my kids. We had a TI-99 4-A computer and it was up to me to load video games in BASIC language. It was all simple algebra and fairly easy to do. With the grandkids, I’m really frightened for their future. They’re already addicted to iPads. My granddaughter wanted the Barbie that talks listens and talks back to you and I refused to buy it. Call it paranoia if you want to, but I didn’t like the idea of it recording and sending that info anywhere. She wanted the American Doll that you can buy that looks like you and has clothing that matches clothing for you. Not about to spend that much money but we found a cheap knock off with matching clothes and she’s just as happy with it.

    Liked by 2 people

      1. It is scary. A FB friend just posted about her teenage niece friending everybody who asked and ending up with an adult male stalker they had to report and block. He had a whole page of teen girls he’d friended and was sharing their pics on his site.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

