Book Talk…4/15/16

Book Talk…4/15/16

Traci Kenworth

 

  1. The Girl From Home by Adam Mintzer. 2016 Simon & Schuster. Netgalley

 

Jonathan Caine wants what he wants. His life as a stockbroker is complete with a wife, an eight-million-dollar penthouse, and a salary most would kill for. Until his life goes really, really wrong and the one woman who could save him has problems of her own.

 

I found the character unappealing. Now it may be because I haven’t the foggiest notion what it’s like to live such a luxurious lifestyle, but the statement he continually makes, “I want what I want,” just disturbs me as I know there may be people like this out there. I found little sympathy for a guy who has everything and suddenly loses it all. His arrogance to me is his downfall. I suppose some might like reading this type of novel, if so, I wish you well. I’m just stating for me the appeal was lost and it was very hard to get through this. I have to at least find something I like about a character and found none of that here.

 

One star.

 

  1. Highland Awakening. Jennifer Haymore. Loveswept 2016. Netgalley. Historical Romance.

Esme is a lady by day, a writer by night. A scandal that would surely end her family’s good name if anyone found out. Cam is a Highland Knight who is assigned to protect a scoundrel who haunts the same circles as his father, an Earl. When the two meet in a bawdry house, sparks fly.

 

I liked this story up to the point that the hero did a shameful thing: he exposed Esme’s secret to her fiancé. I know by today’s standards, it’s not the end of the world, but in those days it was considered a scandal for a woman to write. I lost confidence in the couple after this. I really liked for the first Highland Knight book and hoped to do the same for this one but the betrayal just made me turn away. I’m sure there are others out there who will read on to see Cam redeem himself but I’m not one of them. I will, however, keep her next books in the series in mind for future reading. One book does not end all.

 

One star.5195sthy4cL._SX328_BO1,204,203,200_

Leave a Reply

