Writerly Things…4/16/16

Sean Stratton Unsplash

Sean Stratton Unsplash

 

Writerly Things…4/16/16

Traci Kenworth

 

What story form do you like to write best? Short stories? Novels? Poetry? All of these?

 

I tend to write in all of the above. Mostly, it depends on my mood and my objective for the story. I like to write short stories so that I can feel the satisfaction of finishing something. It’s harder and takes more time to do that with a novel. I like to write poetry when I have something that strikes me. It can be a song, what I’m going through at the moment, an idea that sparks. My poetry tends to run hot or cold. When I feel the need to write it, I write a LOT, when I don’t, I can go through months or longer sometimes before I do so again. With novels, I find I can take my time with a story and try and do it justice. Or, at least, I hope I do. Writing a novel definitely takes more thought, planning, and work. You have to make a commitment to the book itself to go the long haul. Sometimes it works, sometimes, it doesn’t. I don’t know that I prefer one form over the other though.

 

What form do you prefer for your stories? Or do all of these satisfy your Muse?

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

