Book Talk 4/22/16

Book Talk…4/22/16

Traci Kenworth

 

  1. Healthy Speedy Suppers Katriona Nourish. 2016. From Netgalley.

 

This book would be great for someone like my daughter who is on a gluten-free diet. Most of the recipes are designed for that kind of lifestyle. Of course, other people can enjoy it as well. It is split into sections: Soups and Salads, Poultry, Meat, Fish, and Grains, Pulses, and Vegetables and finally Dips, Sauces, and Dressings. There were some good selections here. Some were for those who live in a more fresh seafood area, I think, however as sea bass, prawn, and squid are not available in the area I live (US, Ohio) or if they are, there not in any of the markets I frequent. I did like the Shrimp tomato spaghetti dish as it reminded me of a dish I used to make and had lost the recipe for. I also liked the chicken with ricotta and lemon grass recipe. I’d not thought of this combination before and it was excellent! I also enjoyed the recipe for corned beef hash as it is a favorite dish for my son. All in all, I would rate the book as elegant, creative-friendly, and just—yum.

 

4 Stars!!

 

  1. Western Words: A Dictionary of the American West. Ramon F. Adams. University of Oklahoma Press. 1936.

This book is an excellent research tool or those writing about the American west. It’s a great reference for the cowboys, loggers, trappers, Native American, and others who frequented that age. Case in Point:  bum: An orphan lamb that lives by robbing others of their mother’s milk; a lamb whose mother has deserted it. Also called bummer. Or inkslinger: a logger’ name for the bookkeeper. Six-shooter coffee: A cowboy’s term for the strong coffee of the cow camp—said to be strong enough to float a six-shooter.Winchester quarantine: a barrier created by force of arms. Such quarantines occurred many times in the early West, especially on the trail when a group of natives objected to a tick-infested trail herd passing through their range.

 

I found a wealth of info in this book!! I had it recommended in another book I read last year by Dean Koontz. Worth a look up!!

 

5 stars!!2615069351cGfphlqSL._AC_AA160_

Leave a Reply

