Writerly Things…6/26/16

horse-1310034_960_720

Writerly Things…6/26/16

Traci Kenworth

 

So we’re down to the final why. Why romance? I’ve been reading romances since I was eight or nine. Reading material was limited so I turned to my mother’s stacks of books. I learned about happily-ever-afters from them, not that I got mine, but who knows maybe someday. I still believe in the journey of bringing two characters together despite the obstacles and finding a way to make it work. I see romance all around me today. I have an older brother and older sister who are still married, nieces and nephews, and my parents were married for quite a few years before my dad passed away when I was in my twenties. Romance is about finding that special somone to share your life with and who wouldn’t want to be able to do that? Time-travels kind of happened to be an early off-shoot of my love of fantasy. I like to bring people from different times and even different worlds together and see what happens. Historicals came about through my love of westerns. I tend to write in the pioneer era. Don’t get me wrong, I love Regency and earlier time periods as well. I do read some contemporary and Christian romances too.

The thing about writing is: I believe it all comes down to the relationships between your characters. It doesn’t necessarily have to be a romance story to have relationships matter. It’s all about how they interact, how each grows from the other’s presence. I can appreciate the work that goes into that.  Some of my favorite romance books are The Outlander series by Diana Gabaldon, the Savage series by Janelle Taylor, all of Linda Howard’s, Johanna Lindsey, Nora Roberts, and Constance O’Banyon’s books. Some of my newer favorite couples are YA: Jace and Clary from the Mortal Instruments by Cassandre Clare, Salome and Garth from The Winter People by Rebekah L. Purdy, and Isis and Jack from Sara Wolf’s Love Me Never series. Of course, in fiction, love IS complicated, until it isn’t. That’s what makes a great story.

Leave a Reply

