Writerly Things…7/10/16

woods-1469191_960_720

Writerly Things…7/10/16

Traci Kenworth

 

We were watching the movie: The Scorch Trials, the second of James Dashner’s books. It’s been really good so far. We watched the first one, The Maze Runner yesterday. Today’s keeps getting interrupted. I’m starting to recognize patterns and story arcs in these lately, which is good, I suppose for an author. It annoys those around me though, lol. We hope to finish it up on the 4th, we were halfway through.

 

Nothing like hearing Amish buggies go down the road with their boom boxes shaking the whole buggy and rattling in the hills as they go along here in Ohio. This is usually more of a constant on Saturdays when the young are out in more force. A few weeks ago, at the community garage sales, I found a wolf lampshade at an Amish farm and a deer one for my brother.

 

So when I think of the 4th of July, I think of cookouts. Ribs are nice but hamburgers, hot dogs, and sausages work too. I love grilled food. There’s something about it that is extra special, I think. Paired with the fireworks later in the night, there’s just nothing to make a day go better. Mixed with my mom’s pies, it’s just heaven. Later, we’re planning on s’mores on the campfire. Of course by the time you read this, it will be all behind me.

 

On the writing front, editing is still very much in progress. I’d hoped to enter Pitch Wars but I’m going to be nowhere ready. Sometimes people don’t understand why it takes so long to write a book. It’s because you’re continually growing, learning ways to improve. Plus, getting the first draft down is easy, editing is another story. There’s layers to build, foreshadowing to be done, plotlines to tweak. It takes a long while to get something you’re ready to put out there.  The road each of us takes is different. No one’s journey should be thought to pale beside another because we’re all in here to write stories for the readers, not to compete with one another. That’s all I want to do: tell stories someone might like.

 

 

Leave a Reply

