Writerly Things…12/11/16

heart-159637_960_720

Writerly Things…12/11/16

Traci Kenworth

 

I ended with 5k on NanoWriMo, not horrible, but as I’ve discovered, I work slow and steady. I’m continuing to add to the story as time goes along so I don’t count it as a total loss. As we turn our attention to the coming Christmas, I’m looking forward to a bit of vacation for a week that may help me really get some things done. It’s been go-go for a long while now, so not sure how I will be with some downtime, lol.

Christmas is a favorite time of year for me. I love the Christmas lights. Unfortunately, on the tree I have, I can’t find the plug to connect it to an outlet. So, no Christmas lights to watch or make me cheery at home. I can enjoy those around the neighborhood though.

I’m trying to work out a puzzle on the third draft. It has to do what the main villain is. I mean, I know what she is, but not why or how. Or where. If that makes sense. Sometimes, not everything reveals itself until the end. It’s a little bit of guessing, a little bit of pushing. Do you ever work through the last details later on, in your works? Do you find it harder to do? Or would you rather know every detail up front? Till next time, take care, and God bless!!

4 thoughts on “Writerly Things…12/11/16

    1. Sometimes if I deviate from what I previously figured out, I give it a short while to see how the new material works out. If it doesn’t, I go back to what I have and try to find an alternative route. I’m not one to have every point written out though beforehand. I like a little surprise.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I’m sorry to hear about the Christmas tree lights, Traci. That’s one of my favorite things about this time of year, sitting beside the Christmas tree glow.

    As for writing, I usually work out the details as the story progresses. I pants the details and am frequently as surprised as my characters by the way things turn out!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

