Writerly Things…3/19/17

scary-37245_960_720

Writerly Things…3/19/17

Traci Kenworth

 

I’m getting through my chapters faster than I thought. There are some changes sure. Some to character, some to setting, some to the plot line. I’m going back through after I edit each chapter and writing the info in the story bible so I’ll have the details for the next books. I have three figured at the moment. I may write in this world again, but with different characters, different objectives.

This story came about through something that scared me as a child: hearing every day that the world was going to end. It’s hard to have hope when you think like that. So, this is all my fears, all the control I felt so-called religion had over us. Don’t get me wrong. I believe in God. And Jesus. You do have to respect them but I don’t think you have to live in utter terror of the end. I struggled to keep that side of religion from my children. I wanted them to know a god that cares for us, that loves and forgives us. Not an angry, you’re going to hell if you do one thing wrong god. It took me a lot of years to get over that mentality.

I was told when I was a young writer that writing scary stories was bad. I’ve struggled with that as well. Writing horror does not mean you’re demented or screwed up. In fact, I think a lot of people who write in this genre are healthier than some Christians. We deal with the darkness and get it out on the paper. A sort of purge. And the kind I write, always bring hope, peace in the end. Well, sometimes, lol.

I’m tired of being judged. That is for God alone. Not those around me. He keeps bringing me back to these stories and I have to trust in him that he knows what he’s doing. Getting older is kind of freeing. It allows you not to worry about what others think of you so much. It lets you be who you were meant to be. Take heart if you’re younger. You’re not a horrible person for writing whatever you do. It’s just a story, a part of you that needs explored.

Have a great week, take care, and God bless!

2 thoughts on “Writerly Things…3/19/17

  1. I remember reading Hal Lindsey’s The Late Great Planet Earth as a teenager and being caught up in the end-of-the world mentality. I still have strong views about the coming end, but I don’t believe God is in any way vindictive to His children who believe. And I do think that Christian authors can write horror and related genres effectively. I love Frank Peretti and Ted Dekker. I remember the first time Frank Peretti used the f-word and what a debate it spawned. This Present Darkness and The Oath remain some of the best books I have read by a Christian author, and I love that the field is constantly growing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

