Writerly Things 3/26/17

full-moon-2097326_960_720

Writerly Things…3/26/17

Traci Kenworth

 

Still doing the editing thing. Last week, I got a little more done than usual because of snow days. I wish sometimes that all I had to do during a day was writing. Unfortunately, life calls. Not that I don’t enjoy my life. I love my kids, my pets, my family and friends. Just sometimes, it’s nice to get through some writing.

I made progress on LO as well this weekend, pushing things to toward the climax on the first draft. When this is done, I must go back and do a little research. Check some things. It’s set in Ohio and is the historical romance part of my fantasy, scary, and romance title of this blog.

How was your weekend? We’re expecting a milder week weather-wise per the forecast. How about you? I wanted to ask: how many of you have your own blog? Is it a free one or do you have an upgrade? If you do, what is the best one to get? Personal? Premium? Business?

19 thoughts on “Writerly Things 3/26/17

      1. That seems to be the consensus, but I disagree. I don’t actually sell a product, I have links to Amazon. All the others I’ve watched change, led to no like buttons, an extremely difficult comment section that includes solving a Captcha, and that kills momentum. I thrive on my comments and interaction. I have blog friends who went that way, and they lost followers, and their interaction died. We talk more on my blog than theirs now, because my setup is more functional.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I don’t think I’d like that either. I think I will stay with the free blog. I’ll likely go with Amazon links as well instead of selling directly from my page. I know what you mean about the captchas. They’re annoying!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Well, it’s probably to sell their books from their page but if you have a link to Amazon, I wouldn’t think it’d make much difference. Some say that it saves someone a click to get to that Amazon page and they might not buy if they have to click on the link. But if they’re going to buy, it probably won’t make a difference.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I wasn’t productive this weekend. I goofed off and spent two days hitting the mall. I needed some fun, but I’ll be back at the WIP next weekend (er, not that it isn’t fun too).

    I have a personal blog and I’ve always paid for a domain name and “no ads.” I just recently upgraded to the premium plan because I wanted plug-ins, but I haven’t had a chance to check them out yet. I’m thinking of moving to a hosted site, but will probably wait until next year at this point. My main reason is because I want to do more customization and I want the functionality of plug-ins.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Having fun is always productive in the end! Lol. I pay for a domain name too but I can’t for the live of me figure out how to get it to work with WordPress. That’s another reason I’m hesitate to go with a paid version as I’m not good with tech.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I have two domain names, a dot com through GoDaddy and a dot net through WP. I’ve had them since 2011 and 2012, so I think I must have been grandfathered in when the cost was minimal.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. When I first looked into changing to .com, last Dec. they said it would cost $12 yr. I should’ve taken the offer then. For a personal acct. it’s now $36 and on up to business the increase is even further. I mean, I pay around that to Godaddy now because I don’t want to lose the .com should I decide to do something with it one of these days. I just can’t see paying two places for the same thing.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve heard that you can capture emails with the paid blog, which I am considering only because my book will be published towards the end of the year and I’ll need all the advertising help I can get. The publishing company does build a site for the book but I will still need to drive people to it. I’m new at blogging so don’t want to spend excess dollars if I don’t have too. Still a lot to learn. I also need to make money before I spend money!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

