Special

Book Review: Incriminating Dating Rebekah L. Purdy. Apr. 2017. Entangled. Crush series. Netgalley.

 

Ayla Hawkins last year at high school has fallen under stress. Her college future is hanging on if she doesn’t get more meaty articles in her school newspaper. Her drama club isn’t getting the funds it needs to do better plays. All the money is going to sports. Her best friend convinces her to run across the girl who wins everything, for class president.

 

Luke Pressler, star basketball player, leads a life few people know about: he’s working to help pay the bills along with his single mother and brother. When he’s not working, he’s taking care of his brother. His life used to be mansion hill, now it’s the slums. One night, he gets carried away with his teammates and attacks the town’s statues one of which is his grandfather.

 

Unbeknown to Luke, Ayla secretly tapes the destruction of the statues and plans to use it to help save the school newspaper and drama club. When Luke doesn’t show for their interview, she shows up where he works and plays the video for him. Luke knows he’s sunk both with his scholarship and jail time if his deed is discovered. He agrees to pretend to be Ayla’s boyfriend and help her win the election.

 

Neither expects to wind up liking the other and when trouble hits Luke’s household, Ayla’s there to help. Can they make it past a fake relationship and the video?

 

I LOVED, LOVED, LOVED this book! Ayla and Luke are both such sympathetic characters and you know neither of them are the bad thing either fears. The plotline is pretty straightforward: girl wants boy to help her win election so she can better the school. As in life, nothing quite goes the way they expect it to but that makes for FUN!

 

I give it *****.

 

And now for an Excerpt:

 

Before the football game got started, the announcer came over the loudspeakers to tell the fans about the booth. Hoots and hollers went up through the crowd, and soon we had a long line of students waiting for their turns.

I stood near the booth, making sure to thank everyone for coming out and to actually talk to them. Surprisingly, they seemed receptive to me and my ideas.

“I’m so glad you’re running,” a girl named Brooklyn said. “It’d be nice to have someone normal as president, you know. Someone who cares about the art programs.”

I smiled. “Thanks. I promise, I’ll be fighting hard for those things.”

When halftime rolled around, we still had students lined up. Partially because Stacy promised to post pics on our school newspaper’s social media pages, and partially because I think people liked the idea of taking crazy photos with the popular kids.

The volleyball team left to take their places on the field, and I trudged to one of the chairs behind the booth. I so wasn’t ready for this. Chloe sat next to me. Thank God I didn’t have to do this alone.

“Here, put on some red lipstick. You want to stand out, you know.” She laughed, dabbing my lips. “Now smack them together.”

Trying to ignore the small group standing around us, I did as she said. A few guys hopped into Chloe’s line for a pic, but mine didn’t have anyone yet. And of course the girls were lined for Brady and Jack. I glanced around nervously. This was kind of embarrassing—no one wanted to be seen with me. Did I have something stuck on my face? Maybe I wasn’t pretty enough. Then someone came to stand in front of me. My gaze slid up to find Luke. He held up a twenty-dollar bill, then put it into the can. What was he doing? I knew he didn’t have that kind of money. But my thoughts quickly turned from his money to the fact he was paying to take a picture with me.

“So, what do we want to wear in our photo?” Luke said, reaching for a pair of dark shades and a ridiculously large cowboy hat.

“Um, I’ll take this…” I grabbed a large purple boa and wrapped it around my neck, pulling on a pair of long, lacy white gloves.

We stepped inside the booth…and lined up in front of a computer screen that Chloe’s dad let us borrow, which showed both our faces on it.

“I think we ought to make this a really memorable picture, don’t you?” Luke’s voice sounded deeper.

He moved toward me, his breath warm against my cheek. He wasn’t even looking at the camera. Then it dawned on me what was about to happen. Holy shit. My first kiss. And it’d be with Luke. Freaking. Pressler.

 

 strong>Disclaimer: This Entangled Teen Crush book features adult language, sexual situations, and plenty of girl power. Reading may result in swooning, laughing, and looking for a Luke of your own.

Amazon | B&N | iBooks | Kobo | Entangled | Goodreads

ID_1b_update

GIVEAWAY:
a Rafflecopter giveaway

About Rebekah L. Purdy:

Rebekah was born and raised in Michigan where she spent many late nights armed with a good book and a flashlight. She’s lived in Michigan most of her life other than the few years she spent in the U.S. Army. At which time she got a chance to experience Missouri, Kansas, South Carolina, and California. Rebekah has a business degree from University of Phoenix and currently works full time for the court system. In her free time she writes YA stories, anything from YA Fantasy to YA Contemporary Romance. Rebekah also has a big family (6 kids), she likes to consider her family as the modern day Brady Bunch complete with crazy road trips and game nights. When not hiding at her computer, Rebekah enjoys reading, singing, soccer, swimming, football, camping, playing video games, traveling, and hanging out with her family and gazillion pets.

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Amazon | Goodreads

2 thoughts on “Special

Leave a Reply

