Writerly Things 4/23/17

magic-2009366__340

Writerly Things…4/23/17

Traci Kenworth

 

There’s something about finishing a story that fatigues me. It’s like that last stretch of energy is exhausted. I’ve been meaning to work on my second WIP, but I just haven’t felt like getting down to it. Not that I’m not interested, just not ready to get back to the words yet.

I’m still debating on what to work on next. I have sequels to this WIP, but I’m just going to jot notes down on what to do with them for now. It all depends on what I do from here. On the one hand, I’d like to see my books on the shelves of bookstores. On the other, I want freedom to write what I want, when I want. I most likely won’t get that down the traditional path.

I don’t even know if I can get an agent interested. I thought I might try before I commit to Indie. The last push, so to speak. And, a lot has to do with funds not being available at this time. I’ve heard you need a minimum of $1500 to go Indie. That’s just not in the cards for me. I’m a single parent of two that’s on disability as well. I thought, maybe small press, if nothing else.

What are your thoughts? Are you an Indie? Does the minimum sound right? Or is it too low? What have been the benefits of Indie versus traditional? Or, if your traditional, what do you see as the biggest win? What advice do you offer to seek an agent?

Have a great week! Take care and God bless!

2 thoughts on “Writerly Things 4/23/17

  1. I pursued agents for a long time. I never could get one interested, and didn’t want to retire my stories. I had a few of them and decided to self publish them, rather than delete them. I don’t think it will cost you $1500 to put one out. I’m usually into it about $100 if you subtract the Lisa posters, which are unique to me. I admit to knowing a bunch of people who will help with beta reading and such.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

