How to Make a Living Writing

download

Book Talk…5/26/17

Traci Kenworth

 

How to Make a Living as a Writer by Joanna Penn. 2015. Indie.

Would you like to make a living with your writing?

 

This book will show you how.
I spent 13 years working as a cubicle slave in the corporate world. I was miserable in my job and my creativity was stunted by the crushing daily grind.

Then I started writing books and blogging, using my words to create products and attract readers. In September 2011, I left my corporate job to become a full-time author and creative entrepreneur and since then I’ve grown my business year on year, all based on my writing. More importantly, I’m finally living the happy life I always wanted.

I’m not a Kindle or blogging millionaire and this is not a get rich quick scheme. But I will share with you how I make a six-figure income from writing books, blogging and marketing in an ethical manner.
We’re living in the best time ever to make a living with your writing! Read on to learn more.

 

This book went into detail the steps you could take to make a living as a writer such as being a speaker at conferences, selling merchandise, ghostwriting, and more. Unfortunately for me, I want to concentrate on writing books and not so much being an entrepreneur. I did like this book. It had a lot of information in it on how to build your business. I have a holy fear of speeches, lol and don’t think I’d be much use up on stage. The merchandising I could see, if your book took off.

I’m still trying to piece together what to do with my writing. Some days, I’m definitely on the traditional side, others, I’m curious about self-publishing. It depends on what my options are. While I continue to figure that out, I’ll learn as much as I can from other writers.

6 thoughts on “How to Make a Living Writing

  1. Hi Traci! My first book was published traditionally and I hated the experience. I’m working on self-publishing my new book series and it isn’t easy, but I love the artistic freedom of doing it myself and reaping all the rewards, instead of some middle man taking it all. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

      1. They made a lot of promises that they didn’t keep. I had to do most of the marketing and promoting myself which is one of the main reasons one wants a traditional publisher in the first place. They take most of the profits and they spread themselves out thin, so you don’t get the attention required. That’s what happened in my case but it doesn’t mean it’s the same for everyone.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Most of my problem is that I write YA and that audience tends to buy from the traditional market. The other problem is finances aren’t there for me to hire an editor etc. at the moment. And I don’t want to put out a product that isn’t up to standards because of it.

        Like

Leave a Reply

