Writerly Things 6/18/17

woman-2258019__340

Writerly Things…6/18/17

Traci Kenworth

 

Still sore, but taking it one day at a time. As I said, I never realized whiplash could be so hurtful. I mean, I’ve seen others in neck braces and such but the idea of whiplash has been foreign to me until now. Now, I feel sympathy for anyone who goes through this.

I’ve been so frustrated and my mood swings have been horrible as I deal with this. I may have to go in and see my doctor earlier than usual because of this. I don’t want it to get to maniac mode. I just feel so helpless and that anything could happen. There’s no control. I can’t protect myself or my children despite my best efforts.

I had to drive into the city last week and I must go again tomorrow. I’m very nervous about this. This is normal for me, but it’s heightened by everything going on. I live in the boonies and I’m just not a city person. All the traffic lights and so many lanes and such, just get to me. My son has an interview and that’s why we need to go. He will work around here but for the interview we must head to Youngstown/Boardman. Plus, I’ll be in a rental car, so I won’t have the familiarity of my own vehicle.

There is so much construction/detours going on right now too. And the GPS helps but when we get to the address, it tries to take us elsewhere instead of to the right one and we’re stuck trying to get directions from people. Sigh. Not that everyone isn’t helpful, but there are parts of Youngstown that are downright scary as in all cities.

I know I need to do this if I ever want to be able to go to conferences and conventions. My nerves will just be keyed up until I start toward home, that’s when the pressure eases. To anyone who suffers from a mental illness, know that you are not alone. There is hope! And life can be good. You’ll have to put your trust in others, and in yourself to keep working to get healthy. It can be done. I’m living proof.

3 thoughts on “Writerly Things 6/18/17

Leave a Reply

